Keep Your Eyes Open


Needtobreathe – Keep Your Eyes Open – YouTube.

Cause if you never leave home, never let go
You’ll never make it to the great unknown till you
Keep your eyes open, my love
So tell me you’re strong, tell me you see
I need to hear it, can you promise me to
Keep your eyes open, my love

Using some of my Christmas iTunes cards, I stumbled across this new album from NeedtoBreathe (a band you should all check out).  As cliche/cheesy as it may seem, this is a great “New Year Resolution” song.  The song is about going out to explore the world, keeping your eyes open, stepping out of your comfort zone….something so many of us never do.   I’ve stepped out of my comfort zone more over the past 2 years than in the rest of my life combined and God has done AMAZING things!

I encourage you to find a new way each month this year to step out of your comfort zone, open your eyes to something once unseen, do something that scares you but your gut tells you you need to.  You won’t regret it!  Better yet (and stronger), do something you feel God urging you to do.

Lean into your faith.  Or seek out to develop your faith in a deeper manner. In my life, I’ve found that really digging deep into my faith was hands down the scariest thing I ever did, but (this is true, not some lame cliche) it was also the best thing I ever did.  Giving up control.  Surrendering it all into the hands of my Father, our Creator, the Lord of all.  When you look at it from the perspective of who God really is, it makes no sense not to surrender to Him, but there’s a step there, a leap, if you will, that has to be made, and that’s hard.

Find a support system.  Join (or start!) a small group in your church, school, dorm, community, on Google+’s cool new features, find a way to get an accountability support system for your faith and others who are willing to go on that journey with you.  You’ll be surprised/shocked/amazed at what He can do through you and those around you.  How He can open your eyes (cue Brandon Heath song) to the world around you.

Never limit yourself, your world view, or your potential.  Or that of those around you.

This year I, once again, encourage you to step out.  Make it to the great unknown!

Since I stepped out for real, I have…..gotten back together and married my best friend and love of my life, made some great new friends, traveled to Nicaragua and learned so much about the true lack of barriers on God’s love, mentored, co-lead mission trips, served as a “work project” coordinator for 12 weeks in Minnesota with hundreds of people I had never met before on a Native American Reservation, moved 8 hours from everything I’d ever known, and countless other little things…. it’s been a great ride!  I want you to join me!

One comment on “Keep Your Eyes Open

  1. Wow! I love this blog entry. Not only because you mention one of my favorite bands, but also because this posting really captures my heart and life for this year. Im not big on New Years resolutions, but I feel God pressing me that 2012 is a year to step outside of my fear, and allow him to take me on a journey through life! Great Blog!

    Looking forward to reading more!

    Krys

Leave a Reply

