life lately


it’s been awhile since I’ve really updated about life

Tom and I have been married 7 months tomorrow 🙂  Time flies 🙂  It’s been the adventure of a lifetime and feels like it’s flown by but partially I look back and realize how much we’ve done and been through over those 7 months and I’m blown away!

Stereotypically, I’m learning to cook thanks to Pampered Chef cookbooks, allrecipes.com, friends, and putting together the leftovers at the end of the week and it’s showing… Cooking at home for 2 is so much fun (most times) and we love trying out new recipes and modifying old ones.  Calzones, an italian sausage noodle dish, and Kung Pao chicken have become some our favorites!  Now that it’s warm, we’re trying to fire up the grill at least a time or two each week as well!

Speaking of life at home, WE’RE BUYING A HOUSE!! We put in the offer, things got accepted, negotiations were made, inspections were done, emails have gone frantically back and forth, and assuming nothing crazy happens, we will close at the end of June 🙂   Pictures to come at some point.  But it’s totally renovated, inside and out, and it has trees for my husband who sometimes cares more about the outside than in… Some days he may never come inside when it’s nice.  He’s already got his hammock trees and fire ring location picked out.  I’m pretty stoked about the Jacuzzi tub in the master bathroom, and having a master bathroom!  It’s 3 bedrooms, so we can eventually have overnight guests!

I got a job in January.  I’m the office manager/executive assistant for a local photography business.  They focus on church directory photography as their main gig and privately the owners do family photography and may break into a few other arenas.  It’s a job.  It pays, and it will help us live comfortably, be able to buy a home, and me save for grad school potentially for next fall.  It’s not where I saw myself, but life happens that way sometimes.  Most days I work alone, which is a change from the Y, so it’s teaching me alot about myself and how much I guess I really did enjoy being around people.  But it is nice to be able to set the pace and the strategies and management was my minor, so it’s fun to oversee lots of different aspects of the organization and be the central hub somewhat to how it all functions.  It’s definitely teaching me about efficiency which will help me later in life.

Grad school, yep I snuck that one in there.  I’m looking to go to grad school to get a Master’s in Social Work.  Something I considered after my experiences last summer with Youthworks.  There’s 2 programs I’m currently debating about:  a distance-ed program from UNC-Chapel Hill and a local joint program between UNC-Greensboro and NC A&T University.    Many options to weigh, and I’m leaning more toward the local program, even though UNC-Chapel Hill is ranked #8 in the nation, it’s priced accordingly…

I just really feel called to do more with life, to be able to have the connection I had last summer in Cass Lake with Youthworks again.  To be able to be in a community, working with a group of people or groups of people or families, etc who have a need, and connect them with resources within that community that can help them meet that need.  That’s an oversimplified version, but that’s the basic gist of it.  I feel called to be a part of something like that, something in the community, something more, something hands on, in the field, getting my hands dirty and serving God through serving others.  I just have begun to really discern through youthworks that that is part of my calling, I’m just struggling how to fully live that out right now.  I work 30 hours a week during business hours, so volunteering somewhere to help me fully discern this and get experience to put on an application is hard.  Saturdays are the only day the husband and I both have off, so we typically reserve that to just spend time with each other, and Sunday we’re doing ministry together.  I know God will help me see where He wants me to pursue this, but I struggle with it.

Moving to a new place was for sure an adventure and we’re still settling in, especially in the area of making friends, but I pray about it, praying it will progress more as life slows down a little in the summer….

But overall, life is AWESOME.  My sister graduated high school this weekend, so that got me thinking more about life and the future and really making sure I’m living out God’s calling on my life and doing all I can to allow Him to do what He needs to do through me.  It’s something we all struggle with but last summer taught me so many things and one I was heavily reminded of each day was that if I step aside and trust and pray heavily, He will step in and use me as His puppet do do His will on earth.

Leave a Reply

