I’m captivated by your ways, so I will worship you


Watch what God does, and then you do it, like children who learn proper behavior from their parents. Mostly what God does is love you. Keep company with him and learn a life of love. Observe how Christ loved us. His love was not cautious but extravagant. He didn’t love in order to get something from us but to give everything of himself to us. Love like that.

Ephesians 5:1-2, The Message

In my brief break between jobs, I typically watch the latest One Tree Hill and take some time to read.  I’ve been trying to read through James, but today Ephesians 5 was on my mind.  I’m sure I’ve read it before, but I’ve never read the first few verses quite like The Message puts it.

A constant theme through Passion a month or so ago, to me, was that it really is that simple. God loves us. There aren’t a million strings and rules and loopholes attached, He simply loves us. No matter what we do or where we go.  Yes we are called to do or not do certain things, but those things are to be done or not done out of love, not a list of rules.  In going back through my journal and notes from Passion, a constant theme runs through of simplicity.  I’ve always been one to overcomplicate and overanalyze things, which can easily cause me to miss the beauty in the simplicity of things.  We were not created simply BY God, but FOR Him.  It’s simple and beautiful if you meditate on that.  In all things He does, He does them for the good of His people (Romans 8:28).  He does everything out of love, because of love, so that we may love as he loved.  Period.  This is something many of us know but sometimes forget, if that makes sense.

I was reading through an email last night and realizing how easy it is to forget to take moments and simply allow ourselves to be loved fully by God.  To simply take a minute and rest and just feel the love of God.  It sounds so simple, and it is, but this semester I’m realizing how difficult it has been for me.  To just stop and BE and BE LOVED.  Just try for even a second to comprehend the love He has for us.  It’s overwhelming to the point that all I can do is smile and say ‘thank you’  It’s beautiful.  It’s been a theme through alot of music I’ve listened to lately.  Just surrendering to love, simply love, simply surrender.  At Passion, we went through Colossians in our small group and this passage stuck out to me immensely:

This mystery has been kept in the dark for a long time, but now it’s out in the open. God wanted everyone, not just Jews, to know this rich and glorious secret inside and out, regardless of their background, regardless of their religious standing. The mystery in a nutshell is just this: Christ is in you, so therefore you can look forward to sharing in God’s glory. It’s that simple. That is the substance of our Message. We preach Christ, warning people not to add to the Message. We teach in a spirit of profound common sense so that we can bring each person to maturity. To be mature is to be basic. Christ! No more, no less. That’s what I’m working so hard at day after day, year after year, doing my best with the energy God so generously gives me. Colossians 1:26-29.

It really is that simple. Just smile and rest in that. Do it. Smile. Right now 🙂

God loves us. We recognize that. We are an overflow of that Love in all that we do.  In all that we do, if we are drawing ourselves close to the Great Love constantly, we will be filled with His Spirit and our lives will be an overflow.  That may not look how we thought our lives would look.  We might change our major, our career, our relationships, friends, or change everything, but we will become and remain and overflow of the one great love.  Surrender to love.  It was always a terrifying thing to me to think of the concept of surrender, because I am by nature a ridiculous control freak, but more and more each day, I’m deeply learning and loving the beauty of that word.  It’s a relational thing.  It’s a love thing.  It’s a faith thing.

I mentioned it in my last mini blog, but in reading through James, it’s about faith.  About having faith and trust in God to do what He does.  That might not be what we want or think we need or in our timing, it won’t, but it will be what we NEED.  James 1:5-7 says the following:

If you don’t know what you’re doing, pray to the Father. He loves to help. You’ll get his help, and won’t be condescended to when you ask for it. Ask boldly, believingly, without a second thought.

So here’s life:

Live-fully from the core of your being, live the life He has created for you as the person He created you to be

Laugh. because its important and it keeps you young

Love- because we were first Loved and created out of Love

Smile. because this is also important. a life of overflow from the Spirit will be a life full of smiles. tears as well, but tears of vulnerability falling into the hands of the faithful God. a faithful God who will lift us from what we think are the hardest times of our lives. a faithful God who will give us strength to do exactly what He created each of us to do.

Pray. This is the final and critical component of life.  Relationships don’t happen without communication.  The crux of faith is prayer. and the crux of life is faith.

Live.Laugh.Love.Smile.Pray

Kutless, Taken by Love:

The world will fade away
As I lift my hands
A king that’s worthy of praise
Is the Great I Am

The joy you’ve given rings out
As I lift my voice

I’m captivated by your ways so I will worship You

You’ve taken me by love
You’ve taken me by grace
You’ve taken me away
I can’t resist because
You’ve taken heart

All creation will bow
to the risen king
All of heaven will shout
And the earth sing

The joy you’ve given rings out
As I lift my voice

I’m captivated by your ways so I will worship You

Leave a Reply

