appalachia


In working on my Teach for America placement region preference sheet, I keep finding feeling like a region is missing: Appalachia KY/NC/VA.  During fall break 2008, I traveled with MTSU to Cranks Creek Survival center in super rural Harlan County Kentucky and it was one of the most changing experiences of my life, especially in college.  It was also beautiful.  The people were beautiful.  Mostly cut off from the rest of the world, little to no cell service, cable and internet are scarce, as are other modern conveniences we have on every corner (Starbucks, McDonalds, Kroger, etc), yet it is one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been.  The region is in desperate need and is one of the poorest  in the nation.  I think I have seen an Appalachia Teachers Corps or something of this nature before when googling things to do after college, but I can’t find it now.  I love this region, I want to explore it more.  I’ve wanted to go back since the second I left.  If anyone knows about this or has any suggestions about this, feel free 🙂

If you want to see pictures from my fall break trip,

For more info on Cranks Creek Survival Center: http://www.grass-roots.org/usa/cranks.shtml

One comment on “appalachia

  1. John says:

    Many people forget about the appalachia people of KY/WV/Va/NC. These people are isolated and amongst the nations most impoverished.

    Believe it or not, the Appalachia People are also in eastern Ohio on West Virginia/Ohio Border. I did some research on this when I was still in Graduate Economics Program….

Leave a Reply

